One of the applications included in Lubuntu is the system profiler Hardinfo. As a user of the LXDE desktop included with Debian I had never come across hardinfo. Hardinfo appears to be lightweight (I have no idea what it’s written in, but when I installed it on my Debian+LXDE machine it required no additional dependencies) but has all the functionality you’d expect to find in heavy apps such as Device Manager. As someone who continually formats their machines with various Linux distributions, I occasionally need to find device information that I have forgotten or lost. Hardinfo can quickly display the name of your wireless device so you know which drivers to install. This would also be handy if you receive a computer as a hand-me-down, which I just did. Here’s the hardinfo community page at Ubuntu.

Hardinfo at Ubuntu

